iPacific.com | Samoa | Forum

Author Topic: The American Samoa Islands  (Read 4816 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 395
The American Samoa Islands
« on: January 25, 2009, 10:42:22 PM »
Encircled by the Southern Pacific  Ocean, American Samoa is  comprised of five volcanic islands  and two coral atolls. Dispersed  over 150 miles  of the Pacific, the  territory lies between 13° and 15°  south latitude and 169° and 171°  west longitude, and is the only  populated U.S. possession south  of the equator. With a combined  land area of 76 square miles,  these islands are among some of  the most magnificent in the  world.                                                                                                                             
   The dragon-shaped island of Tutuila accounts for 56 square miles, or 70 percent, of the  total land area in American Samoa. The six other islands include the Manu'a Islands,  consisting of Ofu, Olosega, and Ta'u; Aunu'u, a small island off the southeastern tip of  Tutuila; Swains Island, a small privately owned ring-shaped atoll located over 200 miles  north of Tutuila, with a population of less than 40; and Rose Atoll, an uninhabited U.S.  National Wildlife Refuge. 

Source: American Samoa Office of Tourism


hibiscus iPacific | Samoa | Forum